University of Northern Iowa

JPEC logo

Pappajohn Student Entrepreneurial Venture Competition

The Pappajohn Student Entrepreneurial Venture Competition is sponsored by John Pappajohn, Equity Dynamics, and the Pappajohn Centers. This competition is intended for Iowa university and college students with an interest in starting their own businesses. Three seed grants in the amount of $5,000 each will be awarded to the top three business plans who submit and present in the final competition. Plans will be judged based on a) Content/Concept of Plan and b) Viability of Plan. Application materials, eligibility requirements, and guidelines are available at the UNI John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center in Business and Community Services 128 or by clicking on this link:  



Full or part-time undergraduate or graduate students registered for 2018-2019 academic year at any Iowa post-secondary educational institution are eligible for the competition.
Plans may be submitted by an individual or by a team of students.
Teams must consist of at least one student member.
Teams must consist of five or fewer members.
Business competition applications must be for a start-up or new business only (not for an existing business). Regional directors will subjectively determine eligibility.

2019 Competition Timeline

April 1, 2019 – Round 1 submissions due; must include: Executive summary, Business Model Canvas, Financial projections, Signed Terms and Conditions.
April 1-10, 2019 – Round 1 Judging, Regional Competition; Announcement of advancements on April 10.
April 26, 2019 – Round 2 final plan presentation (by invitation only); must include:  Executive summary, Business Model Canvas, Financial projections (3 years), Pitch deck. Must present in Des Moines, Iowa. If you do not present, you are not eligible to win the competition and an award.